Daily Prompt: Plead the Fifth

by Sanctified Brother

What question do you hate to be asked? Why? Daily Prompt

There are many questions that irritate me and I think one of the worst is, “why do you give all your money to the church?” This bothers me because the question typically comes from someone who is ill-informed about what I do with my money as a Christian and from someone who does not have the same faith in God as a provider of all needs.

I’m a firm believer in the authority of the Bible over my life and adhere to the scriptural command to return a tithe of my gross income (10%) to the church to finance spreading the Gospel to all the world. Unapologetically. Yes, I end up with less in my paycheck than the person who earns the same amount as me and does not return a tithe. The difference is that I will not come up short because faithfully obeying the Lord’s command to return a tithe offers a hidden blessing. Look at what it says in the Bible:

…Test me in this,” says the Lord Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that you will not have room enough for it…

Give up 10% to garner more blessings than I can handle? Easy choice, folks. I know where my money goes. So stop asking me.

Read this: Malachi 3:10Matthew 28:18-20

